Brent Faiyaz Announces New Album ‘Wasteland’

Brent Faiyaz is gearing up to release a new album later this year. The sophomore album from the Maryland native is titled Wasteland and serves as the proper follow-up to 2017’s Sonder Son

The official release date of Wasteland is unknown. However, Faiyaz did share its tracklist, features and artwork.

Executive produced by Jonathan “Freeze” Wells, the 19-track album will consist of four of the songs Faiyaz previously released, dating back to 2020’s “Dead Man Walking.” It went certified gold in June 2021. 

In January 2021, Faiyaz teamed up with Tyler, the Creator for “Gravity,” the album’s second song released. 

Wasteland will also include the Drake-assisted Wasting Time and “Mercedes.” The former track, produced by the Neptunes, logged his first top 10 entry on urban radio as a lead artist.

Currently, “Wasting Time” has been amassed more than 57.5 million streams on Spotify. 

The album’s third early single, “Mercedes,” has been played over 25.9 million times on the same music platform. 

Beyond Drake and Tyler, the Creator, Wasteland comprises guest appearances from Alicia Keys, Tre’ Amani and Joony. 

Confirmed producers and songwriters on Faiyaz’s forthcoming album include The-Dream (Mariah Carey, Beyoncé), Atupele Ndisale (Snoh Aalegra, Vince Staples), Steve Lacy (Ravyn Lenae, Fousheé), Daniel Aged (Frank Ocean, FKA twigs) and DJ Dahi (Eli Derby, Mahalia), to name a few. 

Grammy-nominated producer LosHendrix, who has worked with artists SZA and Givēon, is also expected to lend writing and production skills to Faiyaz’s Wasteland. During last year’s Grammy season, LosHendrix spoke to Rated R&B about his creation method with Faiyaz. 

“Brent and I have a process that’s different than most people I work with because we’ve been working together for so long,” LosHendrix told Rated R&B.

“It just has to be different than everything that’s out and that we did before, so it can take a bit longer, but when we find the sweet spot, it’s special.”

Upon shaking up the internet with the unveiling of Wasteland’s tracklist and artwork, Faiyaz rolled out its album trailer.  

Faiyaz released the F**k the World EP and three-pack effort via Dropbox in the interim.

Brent Faiyaz Wasteland Tracklist

  1. “Villain’s Theme”
  2. “Loose Change”
  3. “Gravity” featuring Tyler, the Creator
  4. “Heal Your Heart” (Interlude)
  5. “Skit: Egomaniac”
  6. “All Mine”
  7. “Price of Fame”
  8. “Ghetto Gatsby” featuring Alicia Keys
  9. “Wasting Time” featuring Drake
  10. “Rolling Stone”
  11. “FYTB” featuring Joony
  12. “Skit: Oblivion”
  13. “Dead Man Walking”
  14. “Addiction” featuring Tre’ Amani
  15. “Role Model”
  16. “Jackie Brown”
  17. “Bad Luck”
  18. “Skit: Wake Up Call”
  19. “Angel”

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Gucci Mane – First Impression (feat. Quavo & Yung Miami) [Official Music Video]
Richard Gere Sells Massive New York Compound for $24 Million
Calvin Harris Taps Chlöe, Normani, Tinashe and More for ‘Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 2’
Video: G Herbo Ft. Rowdy Rebel “Drill”
Cardi B Ft. Kanye West, Lil Durk “Hot Shit”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.