Janet Jackson Announces ‘Janet’ 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

Global star Janet Jackson has announced a special 30th-anniversary edition of her chart-topping album Janet.

The expanded collection ships July 9 and will be available in two formats: a two-disc CD and a three-LP set.

Each version includes all the original tracks, plus alternative mixes and remixes of four tracks: “You Want This (Remix),” Where Are You Now (Nellee Hooper Mix),” “Because Of Love (Muggs 7″ With Bass Intro)” and That’s The Way Love Goes (CJ R&B 7″ Mix).”

The deluxe edition will also come with three bonus tracks that were not previously released worldwide, including “One More Chance,” “70’s Love Groove,” and “And On And On.”

Janet Jackson 30th anniversary Janet Deluxe Edition
Janet Jackson

Pressed on black vinyl and wrapped in an upgraded jacket, the limited edition three-LP reissue of Janet will be packaged with its original material on the first two LPs, with the bonus material on the third LP.

The three-LP set will include a series of rare photo prints from the album era.

According to Jackson’s official website, the new CD costs $19.98, while the three-LP set costs $79.98.

Janet was released on May 18, 1993, via Virgin Records, her first for the label. The album debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, selling 350,000 in its first week sales, making it the first album by a woman to generate the biggest opening since Nielsen Music began tracking sales in 1991.

“I view [Janet] as a really good album,” Jimmy Jam exclusively told Rated R&B in 2018. “I think the album is very reflective of where we all were in our lives at that time. We always said Rhythm Nation 1814 was our What’s Going On and Janet was our Let’s Get It On album. [Janet] was definitely the love album.”

“That’s the Way Love Goes,” the album’s lead single, spent eight weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. It later won Best R&B Song at the 36th Grammy Awards in 1994.

Last year, “That’s The Way Love Goes” was upped to 2x multi-platinum.

Five other singles followed, including “Again” and “If,” which resulted in another No. 1 and No. 2 placement on the Hot 100.

At this publishing, Janet has reached multi-platinum status, with more than six million copies sold in the U.S.

Tonight (May 18), Jackson is performing at PPL Center on May 18 in Allentown, Pennsylvania, as part of her headlining Together Again Tour. Rap icon Lil’Kim is supporting the show as a special guest.

Additionally, producer Harmony Samuels spoke to Rated R&B about his recent work with Jackson.

“Working with Janet Jackson right now. It’s one of the most amazing things I’ve experienced just ’cause she’s so elegant and such a sweetheart,” Samuels exclusively told Rated R&B. “[Sometimes] when you meet people on and off stage, they’re two different people. She’s just as sweet offstage as she is onstage. A beautiful-hearted person.”

Janet Jackson’s Janet (30th Anniversary Edition) Tracklist

1. Morning
2. That’s The Way Love Goes
3. You Know
4. You Want This
5. Be A Good Boy
6. If
7. Back
8. This Time
9. Go On Miss Janet
10. Throb
11. What’ll I Do
12. The Lounge
13. Funky Big Band
14. Racism
15. New Agenda
16. Love Part 2
17. Because Of Love
18. Wind
19. Again
20. Another Lover
21. Where Are You Now
22. Hold On Baby
23. The Body That Loves You
24. Rain
25. Any Time, Any Place
26. Are You Still Up
27. Sweet Dreams
28. Whoops Now
29. And On And On
30. 70’s Love Groove
31. One More Chance
32. You Want This (Remix)
33. Where Are You Now (Nellee Hooper Mix)
34. Because Of Love (Muggs 7″ With Bass Intro)
35. That’s The Way Love Goes (CJ R&B 7″ Mix)

Pre-order Janet (30th Anniversary Edition) here


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Watch Courteney Cox Recreate Her ‘Dancing in the Dark’ Moves
Gojira’s Mario Duplantier Will Return to Late Night with Seth Meyers Next Week
Classic “40 Below” Timberland Boot Gets The Louis Vuitton Treatment
Stormzy and Vince Staples talk working on new music and writing scripts in London
Cyndi Lauper ‘Didn’t Think Madonna Liked Her’ During ‘Rivalry’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *