Shrek 5 Gets July 2026 Release, with Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy, and Cameron Diaz Returning

DreamWorks has officially announced Shrek 5: the long-anticipated sequel is set for release in theaters on July 1st, 2026, with original cast members Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy, and Cameron Diaz all returning.

Shrek 5 will mark the first new installment of the beloved animated franchise in 16 years. The film was initially slated for release following Shrek Forever After in 2010, but those plans were scrapped by former DreamWorks CEO Jeffrey Katzenberg. With NBCUniveral’s purchase of DreamWorks in 2016, however, there’s been a renewed focus to bring Shrek back to the big screen — though it’s taken a bit longer than anticipated.

In 2022, DreamWorks released the Shrek spin-off film, Puss in Boots: The Last Wish, which included a mid-credits scene that set the stage for Shrek 5. It was later revealed that Illumination CEO Chris Meledandri would be developing the story for Shrek 5, with Michael McCullers (The Boss Baby) writing its screenplay. Walt Dohrn, who worked as a writer on the previous three Shrek films, will co-direct the film alongside Brad Ableson (Minions: The Rise of Gru).


Related Video

As mentioned, Mike Myers will reprise his role as Shrek the ogre, while Eddie Murphy will play Donkey and Cameron Diaz will once again voice Princess Fiona. The film’s release coincides with the 25th anniversary of the first Shrek film.

Along with a fifth Shrek movie, Murphy also recently confirmed that Donkey would be getting his own standalone spin-off film.


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Geezer Butler of Black Sabbath Calls The Beatles “a Massive Influence”
Tenacious D’s Kyle Gass Jokes About Trump’s Attempted Assassination During Concert
These Are the Worst Limp Bizkit Albums Ranked by MetalSucks Readers
Extinction A.D. Release Furious New Track “Epidemic Of Mutation”
Premiere: Sickbay’s New Track “Killing You Slowly” Hits Like a Sledgehammer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *